Washington ‘F’ Pit dates for the diary

Washington ‘F’ Pit dates for the diary

Washington ‘F’ Pit dates for the diary

This year Washington ‘F’ Pit is open more frequently so that everyone can take the opportunity to visit this remarkable monument to the region’s coal mining past.

Washington ‘F’ Pit’s magnificent Victorian steam engine, engine house and headgear are preserved to mark the town’s coalmining heritage that reaches back over 250 years.

The horizontal steam winding engine is the last of its type in the North East and was built in 1888.

The engine was capable of lifting 120 tons per hour from the ‘Hutton Seam’, which was at a depth of 206 metres and it took only 28 seconds to raise a load from ‘Busty’ the deepest seam at 283 metres.

The engine is now operated by an electric motor but still can be admired as a wonder of the industrial past this, along with its events and exhibitions make Washington ‘F’ Pit a must see attraction.

Opening dates and times for 2015:

Friday 10 April 11am – 3pm

Saturday 11 April 11am – 3pm

Friday 1 May 11am – 3pm

Saturday 2 May 11am – 3pm

Friday 5 June 11am – 3pm

Saturday 6 June 11am – 3pm

Friday 3 July 11am – 3pm

Saturday 4 July 11am – 3pm

Friday 31 July 11am – 3pm

Saturday 1 August 11am – 3pm

Friday 11 September 11am – 3pm

Saturday 12 September 11am – 3pm

Saturday 19 September 11am – 3pm

Friday 30 October 11am – 3pm

Saturday 31 October 11am – 3pm

Find out more about Washington ‘F’ Pit.

Share this

Did you know?

Perhaps Sunderland's most prominent landmark is Penshaw Monument. It was built in 1844 in honour of the first Earl of Durham, John George Lambton. Penshaw was modelled on Theseion, the Temple of Thesus in Athens.

Twitter

RT : https://t.co/wOAmVsHZQm 12 hours 10 min ago
RT : NOTICE: WWT Washington is temporarily closed for a few days. We have some poorly birds and our staff need to put al… https://t.co/KzaJzUYfJZ 12 hours 11 min ago
It’s a beauty of a day at the beach today! https://t.co/AWesmjrLaC 21 hours 59 sec ago
RT : The weighs the equivalent of 125 double decker buses, and nothing of this scale has been raised in t… https://t.co/GNhtNgO5FH 1 day 16 hours ago
What a fantastic day! Duke and Duchess of Cambridge https://t.co/80cx1rBQdJ 1 day 21 hours ago
RT : Beautiful day for a Royal visit! 1 day 23 hours ago
RT : Saturday mornings like they used to be. This could get messy.......VERY messy! Anarchic comedy, circus and magic fo… https://t.co/Q3CBbYNypO 2 days 12 hours ago
RT : First day of install of Fiona Crisp's solo show 'Material Sight' in the new NGCA gallery... preview Friday 23 March… https://t.co/B1EX6SJoTT 3 days 12 hours ago
RT : Sat 3 March from 10am-4pm, 'Mind, Body and Soul'. A perfect way to re-energise yourself, various activities inc yog… https://t.co/r36aWxBKtw 3 days 17 hours ago
Registrations for Penshaw Bowl are now open! It’s a free event, taking place on Good Friday, 30 March at Herrington… https://t.co/wTgRQgvYiP 6 days 20 hours ago
RT : The Nose That Nobody Picked is a rip-snorting family musical adapted for the stage from the award-winning book by D… https://t.co/MVvffyqmk2 1 week 1 day ago
RT : Watch at 8pm tomorrow, (Thursday, February 15) to see the Red Arrows feature in the latest episode of Sea C… https://t.co/cq5cv6CZug 1 week 1 day ago
Fantastic news today, can’t wait to see Elmer and his pals trumpeting around the North East https://t.co/9WZI68ffOW 1 week 1 day ago
Ooh this looks like another tasty Restaurant Week! https://t.co/J5stOcOkmV 1 week 2 days ago
RT : Don't miss the amazing hour long on BBC 2 at 8pm this Thursday. https://t.co/x6e5ZggJo5 1 week 2 days ago

Facebook

Download the See it Do it app

Sign up to our newsletter